The Pursuit of Happiness Vid-Blog 2


In case you didn’t get the jist of what I was saying in my video then…I want you guys to comment below, share your ideas in regard to the pursuit of happiness and discuss. Very soon, i’ll be posting a follow up video with my ideas/beliefs on the pursuit of happiness. Enjoy!

  1. The actual meaning of the word “pursuit” means: “An effort to secure or attain or to quest.”

    To me, I don’t think that a person can find true happiness UNLESS they are interested in making the lives of people around them happy. Sure, success, money and living dreams are wonderful things, but without making a difference in the world even if it’s in your own community what are we questing for and what worth is the pursuit without charity?

    When a life comes to an end is when the quest comes to an end as well. When all is said and done it is what you’ve left for loved one to remember about you through the many selfless acts you have nurtured during your life.

    “THEE” main question that keeps me traveling on my own pursuit of true happiness is:

    What will people say about me when I die?

    I hope the answer:

    Katrina has pursued well!!!!

    Like

      • nikewrites
      • March 15th, 2012

      You raise a good point: happiness is not always about self. It can (and should) look outward and offer opportunities to help others.

      Like

    • I’m with you on this Kit-Kat. And I’ll try to elaborate in my own response to this by being a little bit more lengthy but at the end of the day I believe that’s what it’s all about. The pursuit of happiness and all that defines it is surrounded by the legacy a person creates during their life. At least..that’s one perspective. Thanks for sharing kit-kat!

      Like

    • nikewrites
    • March 15th, 2012

    Hmmm….great question. I have to give this some thought…but I will return with an answer!!!

    Like

      • nikewrites
      • March 15th, 2012

      Here is my official response: https://vimeo.com/38616282

      Like

      • This is a wonderful reply Nike and it hits the nail on the head of the point I wanted to get across with this blog. Katrina touched on how legacy plays a factor in how a person chooses to ‘pursue’ their happiness and the examples you listed exemplified the importance of focusing on what your heart desires. Thank you so much for sharing this! 🙂

        Like

    • nikewrites
    • March 15th, 2012

    Reblogged this on Nikewrites's Blog and commented:
    Today, my friend and brother, Wil, posed a question about the pursuit of happiness. What is it? How do YOU define it? Is it the same for everyone? And what happens once you achieve it? (Those are my questions to help guide the discussion.) What are your thoughts?

    Like

    • Kerry
    • March 15th, 2012

    I agree with you Wil. Also I forgot what you sounded like until now, which proves I haven’t seen you in forever. Anyhoo… I agree that material things aren’t what make people truly happy. Not because they aren’t great but they don’t fill a deeper need. I think everyone needs to feel they have a purpose. “What will people say about me when I die?” “She had a nice car,” is not what I want people to say.
    I’m in grad school for my Masters in Social Work for this exact reason. I was in Psychology and realized I don’t want to be in a lab all day doing research, I want to help kids. I feel that is my purpose. And whether that really is the purpose God gave me or I decided I wanted it to be my purpose it makes me truly happy to know I’m making a difference, even if in a small way.

    Like

  2. Awesome AWESOME vid Nike!!!! Well and perfectly said!!!!
    Just awesome!!!!!!

    Like

    • Jasmine Harris
    • March 16th, 2012

    i believe that u have to first be able to find happiness in yourself before you can help someone else become happy. how can i possibly try to help someone be happy with themselves if im always walking around sad and depressed and not having a positive outlook on life.

    Like

  3. Pursuit of Happiness comes in many forms and it ultimately depends on what you consider happiness. every person has a different definition of happiness.

    to some it’s success.

    to some it’s money.

    fame.

    cars.

    stability.

    but personally, for me, i feel that the pursuit of happiness coincides with how you feel about yourself. many people are in pursuit of something they already have, but they will never know it because they are never satisfied.

    that’s just my opinion, though.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

MESCTV

Life Is MESC

msherringsays

The life of a middle school language arts teacher. Not to be taken to seriously. Kapeesh?

H I P L O O T

#thelootedlife

KunoichiJen

When You Give a Ninja a Blog...

