Future blogging schedule, short excerpt, and idealistic thoughts!


Hey all, welcome back to An Insomniac’s Dreams!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted so I’ve decided to make this update as action packed as I could. So, let me get started by posting the upcoming blogging schedule.

07/19 – Sports related blog.
07/20 – Something for my big sister’s birthday.
07/22 – MMP promotion
07/24 – Original piece
07/25 – Original piece
07/26 – Music post.
07/27 – Audio blog

So, that’s 1,2,3, – 7! Yes, SEVEN blog posts on the way in the near future! I’ve already gotten 3 of them prepared so I really look forward to seeing what you guys think of things.

Also, very recently I had a birthday. Birthday swag

Sure, I don’t look very enthused..but off of 3 hours of sleep eh, who could blame me? Had a pretty solid day on that evening with my sister’s taking me out to eat and another friend treating me to the movies. Weekend wasn’t what I expected but, I finally got to see Maleficent and make a trip to the arcade with one of my good buddies! I also obtained Mario Kart 8! so, a lot of Luigi DEATH STARE has been going on.

Before I get to the excerpt, I’d like to make a formal request of my readers and all future readers as I’ve had an ideal in my head for a while I’d like to share it with you folks. For the longest time I’ve always envisioned this blog becoming something more than a release for all my creative energy each time something in my life has frustrated me or dampened my spirits. Now that I’ve had it around for a bit longer and developed a bit more of an identity I’ve begun to expect more. I would really appreciate it you guys began to help me turn this little humble blog into a bustling community of writers, readers, and creative people in general. Now, I’m sure you’re wondering how you can help me build this community…well for starters you can help me out by being a bit more active in the comments. Share your thoughts with other readers and try to interact with them more when you agree or disagree with their thoughts. Make new friends and in a lot of cases follow their blogs as well. I’ve had lots of consistent commentary from several very talented and awesome folk. I’d love to see you guys support them as well so we can build a unique chain of give and take all the while developing something extraordinary and uplifting! So, if you agree with this chain of thought and want to help please help me out by following and adding these great folks to your blog read as well.

 

Sammus– Super dope music and updates on the career of one of my favorite artists.

 

Nike Writes– Introspective, timeless, and awe inspiring writing from one of my mentors. 🙂

 

Dyscyplnynary Action– Reviews of music, life, and general awesomeness.

 

Put a Wedge In It- Relationship coaching, writing, and introspective from another of my writing mentors.

Chanice Nykole– Another one of my talented friends. She offers meal plans, positive messages, and can SANG!

In The Mix With Shoom- Exclusive music, interviews, and material from talented podcast host Shoom Isaacs. Someone I’ve become a very big fan of lately.

The Superficial Queen– One of my favorite writers who’s work will always evoke some sort of emotion from you. Check her out!

 

The Houndztooth.com– Sports blog that covers one of the most rabid fanbases in all of sports.

New Mommy New Life Style– Blog home of a fairly new writer friend of mine who I think has the potential to really carve out a special place here in our world!

 

Eddie Lamar Sharpe Jr– Home to one of the writer’s I respect most on the web. Very introspective and very talented author on the rise.

 

Mocha Memoirs Press– Home to erotic fiction and some of the most talented writers I’ve ever interacted with!

It’s actually MMP’s birthday month, here are some unique details on what’s to come!SaleBanner2014

Mocha Memoirs Press began in 2001, but reopened our doors in July 2010 with the hope of spotlighting fantastic fiction in the genres of science fiction, horror, fantasy, and romance. Each year we do something fun for our birthday, and this year will be nodifferent.

Since we’re giving gifts, it’s Christmas in July! What’s in our holiday sack?

Gift #1-New fiction! Four new titles will launch our TOIL, TROUBLE, AND TEMPTATION line.

Gift #2- MMP GIFT bag. It will include the following:

  1. A sample of our books (both horror anthologies, a science fiction title, two erotic romance titles, and a fantasy title).
  2. A MMP tee-shirt.
  3. A MMP journal to write down your own inspiring ideas.
  4. Starbucks® coffee
  5. Other surprise goodies.
  6. All will be contained in a MMP cloth bag.

(You have to sign up for the MMP Newsletter to enter. More details to follow on our blog and our Facebook group).

Gift #3-Black Friday sale in the summer-All Christmas and holiday stories are .99!

Gift #4-Sizzling Deals for HOT summer nights-All erotic romance titles are $2.99 or LESS!

Gift #5-Select science fiction, fantasy, and horror titles are $1.00 or 0.99.

 

 

There’s a few more writer/blogger folk I’d like to promote, but this is all I could squeeze in for now. Now that I’ve got that out of the way, here’s an excerpt from a piece I’m currently revising and preparing to share with the world. I hope you all enjoy and PLEASE leave me some commentary after you finish reading!

 

**********************************************************

 

The Emissaries of Evil were busily explaining their employer’s insurance policy to a client.

 

Of course as the Emissaries of Evil were criminals, the insurance policy they were selling was far better than one you’d receive from a legitimate company. When a criminal sells you an insurance policy it is absolutely certain that the disaster he’s selling it for will occur if you don’t pay.

 

The Emissaries of Evil were stressing this point.

 

“You know,” said Ray, the group’s field leader, “Egghead doesn’t like to be let down…”

 

“I’m very sorry sir,” muttered the storekeeper.

 

“With the Emissaries of Evil, you don’t get sorry,” whispered Ken. “What you get is hospital bills if we don’t get paid.”

 

“Do you want a demonstration?” asked Bruce, the most violent of the four enforcers.

 

“Yeah, ’cause we can do that!” said Jim, his voice subtly muffled by his faceplate.

 

“See?” laughed Ray. A man did not become an enforcer at his young age without a damn terrifying laugh.

 

“The general opinion in this room is you should pay up…”

 

The shopkeeper was not a brave man, but he considered that a better option than being a brave corpse. He began to get them the money. That was when the whistling started. It was shrill, slightly off-key, and had a quality that caused your teeth to chatter in your skull. Ray glanced at the others. Criminals are, as a rule, rather uneasy at having a protection shakedown being observed, as witnesses rarely grasp the subtle nuances of the deal.

 

“Ken. Bruce. Go outside. See who it is.”

 

The pair nodded and headed out.

 

Jim glanced at Ray, clearly offended. “How come you always send them out first?”

 

Ray froze for a second. This would take some thought. “Because you’re the only one I trust to guard me.”

 

“Oh. Thanks, Ray!”

 

Ray breathed a sigh of relief.

 

Bruce returned. “Umm, guys—you should see this….” They followed him out.

 

There, on the side of a building, a young man in a red cape stood whistling.

 

This was far more disconcerting than it sounded, as he was quite literally standing on the side of the building, as if it were the ground, while gravity failed to have the least effect on him. The Emissaries stared at him awhile. Finally, Ray coughed. “Um—excuse me—what are you doing…?”

 

The young man turned to look at him. His face was astonishingly pale, and rather strikingly ugly. He shrugged with almost suspicious casualness. “I’m out for a walk.”

 

Ray glanced away. The longer you looked at the young man, the more you got the horrible feeling that you were the one in defiance of the laws of physics. “On the side of a building?” asked Ray forcefully. This resulted in another shrug. “It’s the only way to beat the smog, really.” The boy gave a mild laugh. “Can you believe they’re selling air now? I mean—air. Sad, isn’t it?”

 

Jim scratched his head—or tried to, the large metal helmet getting in the way. “Are you a superhero?”

 

The young man snapped his fingers in apparent frustration. “Damn. You had to ask that question.” He sighed. “Yes. Yes. I am.” And with that he leapt off from the wall, floating down with eerie grace. He glanced at the Emissaries confidently. “So I guess now comes the part with all the screaming, and the yelling, and the cries of mercy, and the passing out?” He looked around distractedly. “Could you promise not bleed on me too much? I’m finding the dry cleaning bills horrible.”

 

Ray stared at him. “Do you realize who we are, idiot?”

 

His opponent scratched his chin in thought. “An all-male Judy Garland impersonation group that’s turned to evil?”

 

Ray frowned. “No!”

 

“Oh,” said the superhero in resignation. “Liza impersonators, then?”

 

“NO!” shouted Ray, offended.

 

Now he seemed puzzled. “Don’t tell me you’re not all male?”

 

It was at that point that Bruce lost his temper. “We are the Emissaries of Evil, you fool!”

 

“Gosh,” laughed the hero bashfully. “That was going to be my next guess! Boy, I’m bad at these things…”

 

“Shut up!” shouted Bruce. “You have no idea who you’re dealing with! Well, we will tell you!”

 

The young man nodded. “Right, right. And then we’ll get on to the part with all the screaming, and the yelling, and the cries of mercy, and the passing out…”

 

Bruce raised his hands, revealing gauntlets with buzzsaws built into them. “I am the Gladiator! Master warrior, and assassin!”

 

“Because power tools just scream ancient Roman ritual warrior…” muttered the young man.

 

“Quiet!” screamed Bruce.

 

Ken threw off his cloak, and flexed his muscles, revealing the greyish bodysuit underneath it. “And I am— Rhino! I have the strength and the charging power—of a rhino!”

 

Ray summoned a solar flare at the tips of his fingertips. “I am their leader, Solarr—the solar-powered man!”

 

Jim stepped forward, and started up his suit’s power cells. An eerie blue glow covered him. “And I am Cobalt Man. The—well, cobalt powered man…”

 

The man nodded. “Took you a while to come up with those names, didn’t it? I bet you strained your minds and stayed up the entire night, trying to think of something that conveyed the awesome spectacle of might that is you…”

 

Ray snarled. “Listen you—laugh all you want…you’re outnumbered four to one!”

 

The young man smiled slightly. “But don’t you want to know who I am…?” He spread his hands, and waved them menacingly. “I am… DR. STRANGE!” There was a peal of thunder, which was quite unusual when you considered that there were no clouds out at the moment. “Master of the Five Elements! Wielder of mystic forces beyond the mortal ken! Guy who can talk in a really florid manner, and use lots of adjectives!” Dr. Strange stared at them forcefully. “Can you say these things as well? Can you even understand them?” He smiled. “Please respond. We’d be delighted to hear from you.”

 

****************

 

So, what’d you guys think? I know it’s a bit unpolished but, this is just a small segment of what I’m working on. Leave comments below and thanks all!

  1. great list of people to check out. already opened a few tabs to scope some folk’s work out!! the story was cool too. good dialogue. felt like i was reading a book. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank youse for the commentary! Twas just a small segment of something different I’m working on. Though I probably won’t be able to do too much with it since it’s based off of Marvel’s Dr. Strange franchise hahaha. Hoping I can find something good with my future music related post that catches your ear as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    • CrimsonRain
    • July 15th, 2014

    Good story. And I love Marvel. Roll Tide to the Houndztooth shoutout.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for dropping by bro! And of course! Trying to spread the love to all my connects. If not for you wonderful folks I couldn’t live out here! haha

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kurly_Z
    • July 15th, 2014

    Interesting list and it is really nice that I know one of them personally.

    Story is pretty good. From this excerpt I would want to read more. I am not familiar with the Dr. Strange franchise, but this Dr. Strange puts me in the mind of Syndrome from the movie The Incredibles from how you’ve written his dialogue.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you very much! Really appreciate you going out your way to drop me a comment Keshia! Syndrome from the incredibles eh? i’ve only seen that movie once so I wasn’t exactly going in that direction. Great insight though, probably gonna have to rewatch that now for ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Michael K.
    • July 15th, 2014

    Is Dr. Strange Jameson by chance?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed sir indeed.

      Like

        • Michael K.
        • July 17th, 2014

        (Sorry for the delay in replying; vacationing has kept me moving about.)

        Did you ever post any chapters of this project in full other than the first one? I thought it had a lot of potential. Still do, judging by this.

        Like

      • I did. Just wasn’t acknowledged so I moved on thinking there wasn’t much interest in it.

        Like

  2. Love how you explained the criminal activity of the emerraniers! Also, thanks so much for the shout out….I will be following everyone you’ve listed, cause if you follow their work THEY MUST BE PRETTY AWESOME!

    Great work lil bro 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • nikewrites
    • July 15th, 2014

    Loving the story and Dr. Strange’s sarcasm! Good write, bro! And will will have to check out some of the other folks your have listed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had no idea you were 82! Lol. Happy belated Birthday!

    Like

  4. Thanks for the shoutouts <3, happy bday again lol although you look unamused

    Like

    • That’s the “I’ve only slept 3 hours and I’m pleased thing are going swimmingly” face. Hahaha. Thank you for dropping by and commenting! There will be more shout outs in the future. TRUuuuuuuuuuust!

      Like

    • kittenwitclawz
    • July 18th, 2014

    First, I apologize for commenting so long after your post. My week has been beyond hectic. Thank you for the mention above, I appreciate it Wil.

    I am amazed at your ambitions for blogging and eagerly anticipate your upcoming blogs. Your writing as always is intricate in its creation of your characters.

    That look on your face with your birthday cake..smh. I mean, it was red velvet cake, couldn’t you have mustered up some sort of smile?

    Like

Leave a Reply

MESCTV

Life Is MESC

msherringsays

The life of a middle school language arts teacher. Not to be taken to seriously. Kapeesh?

H I P L O O T

#thelootedlife

KunoichiJen

When You Give a Ninja a Blog...

